Posts I loved this week

Truly genius, this week’s posts are classy and informative. Is it me or do they keep getting better?

A fantastic idea that started at Considerings passed on via Gene’O, I loved everything from the idea to the posts on it. I really hope we get those 1000 blogs and start something. Compassion is a beautiful goal. A huge thank you to Gene’O for including me.

Getting an editor is a personal choice. David J. Delaney talks about his in this fantastic post.

This one is a great post for creating a balanced character, not 100% evil or 100% good rather a realistic mix. Check out all the tips and how-to’s at Writers Helping Writers.

I don’t spend that much time on Twitter but this post on annoying Tweets made me laugh. If you’re looking for a chuckle or spend time with that famous Blue Bird, check it out on Writer Unboxed.

A huge, HUGE congrats to Luther M. Siler who’s now in print!  Skylights is available right here and it’s in print for your reading pleasure. And yet another congrats for the completion of The Benevolence Archives: The Sanctum of the Sphere! Awesome week!

If you’re a writer, Write To Done has their top 10 Blogs for Writers 2015 out. They have strict guidelines for their selection, links and brief descriptions with pros for each, so I was in heaven.

This one was just a lovely, lovely post to read. I read it early in the morning before heading to work and it sent me off with a goofy grin on my face. There’s something really special about Part Time Monster‘s writing. I’ve noticed it before and this post has it right in spades. The writing is honest, fresh, refreshing and has a thread of vulnerability that grabs me every time.

It’s funny. I cringe when I see someone get hurt in a movie but, if they hurt an animal, I have to walk out and, if it’s a dog, I walk out crying. Stories like this need to be passed and shared. No animal should suffer at our hands. A big, huge thanks to Izzy for that supportive post. Keep up the great work!

I’ve ranted about Scrivener before. Check out 3 features that make it ideal for a First Draft  from the Spring Shack and see even more reasons for loving that program.

Finally, cute and lovely, this post both cheered me up and made me smile. I loved everything from the pictures to the concept because it’s so true. Thank you for that gem, Margarita Morris!

 

Seuss-quotes-1

12 thoughts on “Posts I loved this week

  1. I think what you say about balanced characters not being 100% good or 100% bad is key. I just saw part 2 of The Hobbit and didn’t have the same connection with the characters that I had experienced with the original trilogy of Lord of the Rings. I really think it was because they were very flat or one-dimensional in The Hobbit. No richly complex characters that you fall in love with and come to care about. I particularly like it when you end up loving an evil character despite yourself, or when a goody-two-shoes character finally has a significant flaw that endears them to you and makes them more human.

    • Absolutely! That’s an awesome aspect of the ‘bad’ guys. Like the Sherif of Nottingham, who stole the movie in Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves, they can be complex and wonderful at the same time that they’re deliciously evil.

What do you think?

