Awesome posts for writers

There are a lot of posts out there claiming to help writers. While some truly do, others fall short of the mark. I’ve chosen these below with a careful, judgmental eye. In order to make the cut, they had to be clear, offer something valuable to a writer and deliver. I’ve included a summary and a little blurb on why they’re in this list. My hope is that you find them useful.

A great story only occurs with great characters and that means fleshing them out, making them complete, real. Here’s a great post from The Crimson League on how to do just that.

Now this post made its way to me, all by itself. I love it when that happens! It’s about how to make money with your blog…something I’ve heard about but never even considered. If you’re interested, it’s a great post, with steps and links (love them!) from someone who truly knows what they’re talking about. A huge thanks to AdNgin for this great post!

If you’re a writer looking for a way to increase your productivity, this post is for you. With clear ways to explain what works, tips and online tools carefully selected for each type, this post is a fantastic and very clear way to understand what works for you and what doesn’t. Don’t beat yourself up, sometimes it’s all about finding that right approach to get started. A huge thanks to Carson Tate from 99u for that great post.

I love the concept of simplicity and less being more. In that sense, I read this post by James Ball in Becoming Minimalist and loved the idea that giving books away creates space to love reading more. Sometimes, it takes giving something away to keep it.

I’ve heard ‘Show, don’t tell’ but I have seldom seen a clear way to fix that pit fall. Until this post in the Write Practice, that is. In it, I had clear examples and links to other resources in the subject. Loved, loved it!

Finally, something to make you laugh. This post on top ten things not to say to a writer made me laugh out loud. Absolute gold from Wise Ink.

(credit: forum.jamesdhogan.com)

(credit: forum.jamesdhogan.com)

7 thoughts on “Awesome posts for writers

What do you think?