The need for self-care

I see burnout every day at my DayJob. We work with the public and they can always use more of your time, your services or simply you. It’s really hard to put a boundary and say no but the alternative is burnout.

Writers experience burnout too. Driven by the thirst to find that elusive dream, I push myself and then push even more. Some times, I push too hard. I lose perspective. That’s why self-care is so important.

Jennifer Gresham wrote a fantastic post on burnout in her blog Everyday Bright. She warns about the danger of overachieving. “In my experience, dreams multiply over time. The more you accomplish, the more you will want and expect to accomplish.”

I don’t think she’s telling us to settle and not dream. I think she’s telling us not to burn out and to not miss out on what we already have accomplished. “The real tragedy is that my dreams often take away from the richness and joy I have in my life right now. …My #1 dream is to enjoy the life I have, not the life I think I should have.”

This is a topic that I don’t want to talk about. I don’t want to hear that my dream is taking away from my life. I’d like to hear how to keep writing and become more successful. But that’s denial and that won’t get me very far.

I loved Jennifer’s message and I want to thank her for having the courage to be honest instead of just pretending everything is fine.

She’s not alone. Here’s Barbara O’Neal’s post on writer burnout from Writer Unboxed and Shawn Coyne’s very positive post on the same subject from Steven Pressfield‘s awesome blog. And, one more for the road, this resourceful post on coping mechanisms for writers by Laekan Zea Kemp.

A big thank you to these writers for great, inspiring posts!

4 thoughts on “The need for self-care

  1. Great links and great post. I dream big, but I try to make it achievable with smaller goals. I always take Sunday off from writing and the internet, and I think this helps a lot to keep me sane 😀 Having just one day off helps give me a real recharge and makes me ready to start again the next day.

  2. I saw that headline and felt like you wrote this for me.

    Last night I got to the point where I told myself, “just stop, right now.” Go to bed. I did that because the conversation we had the other day made me more alert to it. Self-care was the furthest thing from my mind when I wrote that piece the other day, but you aren’t the only persons who saw it.

    And guess what? All the self-care I’ve been doing lately allowed me to spend 2 and a half hours today and illustrate, tag, and schedule all my content through Friday except one piece which I can easily write tomorrow evening. And it didn’t hurt my network one bit to take the time to recharge over the weekend and last night.

    • Aw! Gene’O! Self-care is so important and, for me, so hard to do when I’m stressed or in a hurry. I know it’s the reason I can be so much more productive after I do it…but I still struggle to do it.
      I’m so glad you did take the time and that you saw it only benefited you and your network. That’s really awesome. Thanks so much for that amazing comment!

What do you think?

