Where we have a couch emergency

We had to go shopping for a couch yesterday. Our present couch is getting on in years and has been repaired more than once from sudden attacks by River.

There are basically two types of couches in my book. Those that look nice but don’t feel that comfortable and those that look like they should go into a basement and never see the light of day again but are the most comfortable thing you’ve ever sat on.

I’ve always liked the ones that look nice…until I sat on one that was hideous but I felt like I had no bones. The thought of coming home to that every day made my mouth water and  didn’t care what it cost or what it looked like, I wanted it like I wanted my next breath of air.

Yesterday, we headed out to find a new couch because the one we have at home feels like a chiropractor from hell has attacked your back and you get up with numbness in some places and pain in others. In other words, it was a couch emergency.

We ended up getting a recliner that doesn’t quite look like grandpa’s basement couch (see below).

It’s a recliner, though it has a bit of dignity in its lines. Ours is a two seater because our house is tiny and we’d like to be able to walk around the thing and it’s dark blue because we have two dogs and we’re not nuts.

Now, finding this little gem wasn’t a two minute process. My hubby is particularly choosy about his furniture and this search required checking out several stores and sitting on at least 20 couches. The entire process took so long that by the time he found this one, my stomach was starting to eat my lungs and I was cursing all British people in general and my hubby in particular.

Then we heard…it’s going to take 6 to 8 weeks to get here.

What do you think?

