A very different book review…

Okay, this one is certainly way out there. I usually don’t read books like this. I’m very weary of diet fads and suspicious of extreme changes in food. I like eating a variety of foods and not feeling deprived or strict.

Now, lately, I started trying to cook. I’ve had some results that were good and some that we such a disaster the dogs wouldn’t eat the stuff. For some reason, I chose to start cooking vegan meals (I hoped that at least with plant-based ingredients, I wouldn’t kill anyone with salmonella). Looking around for good recipes, I kept hearing about this book “The China Study”, so finally, I bought it.

(credit: amazon.com)

(credit: amazon.com)

Well, the book is really incredible. I won’t give it justice because I can’t replicate the clear explanations that Dr. Campbell uses in his book. But I will tell you his story.

He was born in a dairy farm and ate the diet that his family thought was very healthy. An animal-based diet of meat, dairy, vegetables and fruits. They tried to eat mostly things they grew on the farm and he grew thinking that was best. He went to university, got his Ph.D. and continued to try and prove that way of eating was best.

It was only when he went to Vietnam and saw studies to the contrary that he started to research his theory and, after 30 years of searching and doing the biggest study of nutrition ever done, he concluded that animal protein is not the healthiest thing for humans and it actually can be harmful.

I can’t reproduce the impact of this book on the reader in a tiny review. I can only say that it was impressive and I was pretty skeptic when I started reading it. If you’re concerned about health or trying to improve your diet, you might want to pick this book up.

And yes, me and my lovely hubby are seriously considering becoming vegan…I’ll let you know how that experiment goes.

What do you think?

