Computer issues

My lovely, trusty computer has been with me for years now. It’s seen me writing and blogging and searching and discovering people online…It’s seen my ups and my downs and through it all, it’s stayed virus-free and faithfully reliable.

Lately, though, it’s been getting some things confused and it doesn’t move as fast as it used to. It’s 4 years old, which is getting up there in computer years, so I treat it with care and try to understand when it mixes up what I tell it. I still think there was potential and life in the old girl.

Still, when a tiny email took forever to write, I decided some action was needed and called the techie-support-people and after many tests and a whole lot of waiting, they told me that it was probably a hard drive issue.

It goes to show you just how techy I am that I had no idea what that meant. But to make a long story short, my lovely computer is now in the hands of a techy person at the store who will poke and probe it and see what it needs and just how much that will cost.

If the cost is higher than the computer is worth, I should probably buy a new one.

I should be happy there’s such great support over the phone. I should rejoice that in only 3 to 5 days, I will know what’s wrong. I should rejoice that I will either get a new computer or have mine working again.

I’m not happy. I’m terrified. For 3 to five days, I will be computer-less.

P.S. If you’re wondering how I’m writing this post…I’ve snuck onto hubby’s computer while he’s in bed with the flu…

What do you think?

