Ocean’s boo-boo

We didn’t get dogs when we moved out to the country. We got dogs and then decided to move out to the country–because was a better environment for our pooches.

It’s safe to say they’re a little spoiled.

Our diva-girl, Ocean, posing for the camera

Our diva-girl, Ocean, posing for the camera

River loves watching TV

River loves watching TV

They’re fluffy, they’re silly and they’re ours. In spite of their ability to shed their body weight in hair every few months, we love them to bits.

That was why when I saw Ocean, limping, I ran to her side to check out the injury. After many licks from her and a few more from River, I was able to see that there was a bit of blood on her right front paw. Caring dog-mother that I am, I immediately ran for the antibiotic ointment.

Believe it or not, there was blood on this paw

Believe it or not, there was blood on this paw

Well, Ocean licked the ointment off in less time than it takes me to type this. I moaned in despair and reapplied. More licks followed.

I think she got hurt digging this hole...

I think she got hurt digging this hole…

My husband wasn’t as worried as I was…but I was besides myself. All day, I rushed from place to place, trying to get back home to check on our girl. When I finally got home, I ran to the yard, desperate to check on Ocean.

Why are you looking at me like that? Everything's fine.

Why are you looking at me like that? Everything’s fine.

The fuzz-ball in question was running around the yard madly chasing an invisible squirrel. I have never seen her that happy.

I guess I better cancel that emergency appointment I made at the vet’s.

What do you think?

