New house, new scenes

I’m so resistant to change. I really don’t like it. It takes me forever to accept it and even longer to recognize it’s a good thing. We’ve been in our new house for just about 2 months now and I still resist calling it home.

To help move things along in my obstinate mind, I thought I’d share some of the sights we enjoy.

IMG_1030 IMG_1031

These are the rocks in our yard. When we first moved in, they were half-burried in a corner of the yard, all on top of each other. Since they weigh more than a small car, we had to get a huge machine to move them and, in a spurt of originality, we arranged them in a sort of circle. We now call it the Mini-Stonehenge.

For some reason our grass has turned white. You might not be able to really tell in this picture but trust me…it’s white. Bizarre but there you have it.

IMG_1048

We also have these happy little mushrooms in our yard and a not-so-happy nest of wasps that I hope our doggies stay away from. My husband ‘discovered’ it by accident while mowing the lawn and was bitten 8 times before he could make it into the house. Eight times. I’m thinking guard dogs are overrated. The thing would be to have guard-wasps. Now there’s a deterrent to unwanted visitors!

IMG_1050

So, what do you think? Exciting new digs?

 

4 thoughts on “New house, new scenes

  1. Hmm, I remember moving. When I was 18, I’d moved 18 times. Different countries, different cities (or not, in many cases where it was just a village in the middle of the jungle), different schools, different homes. So you could say I was an adept at moving and adjusting, and didn’t really mind at all. I had some great experiences because of all that moving. Since then, thankfully, the average has dropped back to acceptable levels – in fact, I’ve lived in the same place for about 15 years now. And I really don’t miss moving one bit, so… I hear ya! 🙂

    • 18 times!! Yikes! It’s hard to move around when you’re young. It certainly was for me. We too moved countries and had to learn new cultures and languages. The great result is I speak 3 languages now…but it was hard to lose friends so often as a kid.
      As an adult, I like to plant roots now and stick to one place. Maybe because I too moved so often.

What do you think?

