Dog fights

Akitas were originally bread in the cold mountains of Japan to fight bears. Our pets are a far cry from those tough ancestors of theirs. Instead of roughing it outdoors, they spend most of their waking ours inside a warm home getting many hugs and kisses, regular meals and tidbits. Looking at them, with their thick fur and curly tails, they look more like big teddy bears than anything threatening.

I was thinking something to this effect while I kissed River, who had already finished (aka inhale) his breakfast this morning, when I felt a soft wet nose touch my ear.

Ocean needed kisses.

I turned to pet her and reassure her that I love her just as much when River seized the opportunity and started eating Ocean’s abandoned food.

Ocean spotted the thief right away and the mother of all dog wars began.

Did I call these two fluffy teddy bears? Fighting, they were more like possessed demonic hounds from Dante’s Inferno than any natural creature. The sounds they made alone made me start screaming. Gone were the shy, gentle giants I knew. These wolf-like fiends moved with a speed that shocked me and had no compassion as they tore at each other.

We have had rottweilers and we have had bullmastiffs in our home, but none of them have ever fought with the insane, wild, fury of these two. If I hadn’t seen it with my own eyes, I would have never believed it possible.

(An aside note: if your dog is ever involved in a dog fight, a good idea to stop the fight is to turn a water hose on them. The water shocks them into stopping and you don’t get hurt in the process.)

Needless to say, our kitchen doesn’t have a water hose. So, I stared in horror while my beloved pets re-enacted the doggie version of the Exorcist.

Thankfully, the fight ended mere seconds after it started. The dogs shook their fur and walked around as if nothing had happened. I, shaking and crying, tried to remember my First Aid and rushed over to check them for injury while they gave me bored looks. They were gleefully playing in the snow moments later.

Maybe there’s something left from those ancestors after all.

(credit: kimballstock.com)

(credit: kimballstock.com)

15 thoughts on “Dog fights

  1. I’m so glad there were no injuries and they are back to playing in the snow. I love the way you described the unexpected battle – I could picture them morphing into their ferocious ancestors, before coming down from the adrenalin rush and going about their business!

  2. Pingback: Featured Blogger The First: Taylor Grace, Author | Just Gene'O

  3. Pingback: Top 10 posts for January | Taylor Grace

  4. I had to laugh on this one because you so perfectly explained what I felt when mine went at it, more than once. It’s horrifying to witness your babies acting like vicious animals. So glad yours are happy at play once again. Too bad people can’t make up as quickly. What a nicer world this would be.

  5. We took care of a friend’s akita for a month or so–a long month. She was a sweet dog, but we had to divide up the house to give the cat a safe haven, and then the damn cat would stroll past the barrier to play chicken with her. Plus she chased squirrels, and our neighborhood was rich in squirrels. As long as I could plant my feet before she lunged, we were fine. If I was off balance,w e were in trouble. What did I learn? Never get a dog that might outweigh you.

    • That’s hilarious!! Akitas have a very strong prey drive. They love chasing things that move…unless it’s a ball. They’re not retrievers. Sounds totally like the doggies we have here. Imagine, we have 2 of them! If I walk them and they see a squirrel, I’ll go flying.

What do you think?

