Pay It Forward Friday: Natacha Guyot

Pay It Forward Fridays came from this post by Emily Guido. The idea is to feature a blogger or author on Fridays and give them a little shoutout. Anyone goes as long as they’re interested.

I’ve received an incredible amount of support from bloggers, authors and people I’ve met on line who didn’t know me and were just very kind, supportive souls. And, when I read that post by Emily Guido, I thought: time to give back.

I loved this quote from Emily’s mother:

“I cast a couple of pieces of bread on the water and the waves bring me back a ham sandwich.”

Karma is a beautiful thing.

Today I’m focusing on Natacha Guyot.

profilepic

She says this of herself: “I am currently self employed as an independent scholar in France, where I work on several research and writing projects, mostly nonfiction. I blog regularly and also am a feminist, a vidder, a geek, a fangirl, and bookworm.

I earned two Master’s in Media Studies and Digital Culture & Technology from Sorbonne Nouvelle University and King’s College London. I primarily work on Science Fiction, Transmedia, Gender Studies, Children Media and Fan Studies.

As of 2014, I have been published and was a guest speaker in several countries. I have a couple of books upcoming in 2015, Women in Science Fiction Television(Rowman & Littlefield, USA) and A Galaxy of Possibilities: Representation and Storytelling in Star Wars (Self Published).

Besides my nonfiction and academic projects, I am also working on a Fantasy short story series, Clairvoyance, whose first volumes I hope to see published mid to late 2015.

I am seeking to expand my career in the USA or in the UK, either in university teaching or in the media and creative industries.”

Natacha is a busy lady. Here are her publications, recent and upcoming.

Publications

Upcoming Publications 

  • 2015: A Galaxy of Possibilities: Representation and Storytelling in Star Wars, Self-Published.
  • 2015: Women in Science Fiction TelevisionRowman & Littlefield (USA).
  • TBA: “John Winchester – the orchestrated fall from grace“, in an edited collection, Edwin Mellen Press (USA).
  • TBA: “Sam Worthington: Negotiating Humanity“, in Visions of Humanity in Cyberculture 7 and 8 (hard copy volume), Inter-Disciplinary Press (UK)
  • TBA: “Talyn, the heroic journey” in an edited collection on FarscapeRowman & Littlefield (USA).

She’s also very busy online. Check out some of her best contributions:

Academia

Fandom

Feminism

Internet

Star Wars

Vidding

 

Recently, she’s had a very important addition to her life in the form of:

kenziday2

Kenzi and her are already best friends.

A big Star Wars fan, Natacha is one of those incredibly kind people I’ve had the great fortune of meeting online. Check out her blog and see what I mean!

Good_karma_for_all_logo

11 thoughts on “Pay It Forward Friday: Natacha Guyot

  1. Pingback: Top 10 posts for January | Taylor Grace

What do you think?

