Pay It Forward Friday: Crystal Goodwin

Pay It Forward Fridays came from this post by Emily Guido. The idea is to feature a blogger or author on Fridays and give them a little shoutout. Anyone goes as long as they’re interested.

I’ve received an incredible amount of support from bloggers, authors and people I’ve met on line who didn’t know me and were just very kind, supportive souls. And, when I read that post by Emily Guido, I thought: time to give back.

I loved this quote from Emily’s mother:

“I cast a couple of pieces of bread on the water and the waves bring me back a ham sandwich.”

Karma is a beautiful thing.

Today I’m focusing on Crystin Goodwin.


1625622_1434527013455007_1528517240_n-2

 

Crystin says of herself: “First and foremost, I’m an author. *blushes* I’ve always wanted to say that. But seriously, my first book was released March 2, 2014. UnBlessed can be found in a number of places, mostly online. Amazon and Barnes and Noble both have links, or you could visit my personal estore if you want to be super supportive!  https://www.createspace.com/4695914

I have a lot of favorite authors, books, and series – which I’ll include below – but I wanted to mention my inspiration, idol, and hero first: Anne McCaffrey. Her diversity blew me away when I was in high school. After reading her Pern series and then diving into the totally different yet just as wonderful Tower and the Hive series, I remember thinking, “Wow. One person thought up these two rich, complex worlds. I want to be able to do that with just one.” Many years later, Myrillia was born.

As for some of my other favorites, they include: the Hollows series by Kim Harrison, the October Daye series by Seanan McGuire, the Anita Blake series by Laurel K. Hamilton, R.A. Salvatore’s Drizzt series, the Dresden Files by Jim Butcher, and Christopher Paolini’s Inheritance series. Yes, I’m a Harry Potter fan, and I’m not ashamed to say I like Twilight. Well. Maybe a little ashamed.

Another fun fact? I’m a HUGE World of Warcraft fan, and an avid player. Note I said avid, not accomplished. No, I’m not a raider. No, I don’t PvP. I don’t top DPS charts (well, I do occasionally – I’m not a bad player). I tend to lean towards collecting … everything. I have one of each class over level 20 (and that’s without refer-a-friend bonuses), and over five max level characters (pre-Warlords of Draenor). If your a WoW player, too, feel free to look me up: you can usually find me on Kieve – Lightbringer, Jahline – Lightbringer, or Teruaki – Earthen Ring.

Oh, my final note? I’m amateur artist, mostly with animation style drawings. Especially anime style. (Yes, I like anime, too. You couldn’t guess that from the reading and gaming clues?)”

These are her favourite books:

The entire works of Anne McCaffrey
The October Daye series by Seanan McGuire
The Hollows series by Kim Harrison
The Legend of Drizzt by R.A. Salvatore
The Anita Blake series by Laurel K. Hamilton
Twilight by Stephanie Meyers
The Harry Potter Series by J. K. Rowling

She’s written UnBlessed, the first book of the series Blessings of Myrillia. The second book, Fire Blessed is due out in late 2014.

517iSFaUOlL

I reviewed UnBlessed and found it outstanding. Click on the cover above to buy it from Amazon.com

She has her own blog at crystinlgoodwin.wordpress.com where she does everything from share reading list to reviewing books.

So, want to know an author before they become famous? Check out Crystin Goodwin, an up and coming author with a very promising future and tons of talent.

Good_karma_for_all_logo

4 thoughts on “Pay It Forward Friday: Crystal Goodwin

  1. Wow. This is just … Wow. Thank you, Taylor. It means a lot, knowing that I touched one person enough that they wanted to share my work. I am truly honored, and I’ll do my best to keep up … whatever it is I’m doing to deserve this. You’re the best!

What do you think?

