A little heads up

I’m a small author. I’ve written one book and am slowly working on my second. I’m a teeny, tiny fish in a very big ocean. So, when I read this post by Molly Greene about ebook piracy, I thought: no way that can happen to me. No one even knows I exist.

Well, no one may know I exist, but my book was in the general ebooks site. And you could get it for free. I didn’t know if to be flattered or offended.

babies-funny-baby

Good news, Molly Greene’s article explains what to do and she even has the email that got her books removed from the site. I’ve sent them the email and hope that they’ll remove my book.

I’m really hoping that no one else finds their book on that site but, if you do remember, knowledge is power. Check out Molly Greene’s post and get your book back.

superhero-clip-art-6

PS. If you know of other ways to get rid of books pirated, share them with me and I’ll pass them on as well!

PSS. I sent the email verbatim from Molly Greene’s site and the very next day, I got an email from general ebooks that said:

“Thanks for your report!

Links was removed.

Kindly yours.”

Success, even if it’s poorly written. 😀

15 thoughts on “A little heads up

  1. I think it’s sort of an author badge. You haven’t made it until your book’s been pirated. 😉 Seriously, though, it happens. I figure that most book buyers are on the up and up. Few will go to Amazon and say, “$2.99! That’s outrageous! I must find it for free!” Usually a curt email to the site admin will do the trick.

  2. Pingback: Posts I loved this week | Taylor Grace

What do you think?

