Review: ‘Darling Beast’

I love the theme Beauty and the Beast. It’s a favourite premise of mine, so I was thrilled to have Elizabeth Hoyt write it. I have read every book she’s written because I find she’s consistently awesome. Her characters are incredibly well written, fresh and new. The dialogue is quirky and fun and her books are over before I know it. She’s on my automatic-buy list. As soon as I get a new calendar, I write her release dates on it. She’s that good.

This book was no disappointment. Apollo Greaves is the ‘beast’. A monster of man who can’t speak. I loved that premise and wondered how could she ever make the romance happen when he was mute. How could she create tension? How could she put in her quirky romance? I won’t tell you how, but she does do it. In spades.

There’s also Lily, our heroine. A wonderful person who’s down on her luck and has to live in an abandoned theatre with her son Indio and their hilarious italian greyhound Daff. Lily was so easy to like, I was her best friend within a few paragraphs.

It’s no secret that I like dogs and Daff was a particular favourite of mine. She’s so funny and naughty and still realistic that I looked forward to every scene with her in it.

Touching and moving, Darling Beast is a great historical romance and another definite joy in my work week. I have to admit, I snuck read it and took it everywhere. Couldn’t stop reading until I turned the last page. If you’re a fan of romance or historical romance, I’d highly recommend this one.

darlingbeast-2

Note: click on cover to go to site.

10 thoughts on “Review: ‘Darling Beast’

What do you think?

