We interrupt regular programming…

I was in a car accident yesterday. Yeah, as interesting days go, this one was at the top of the pile.

I was driving with the traffic on a street when someone decided to cut across the street (all four lanes) and hit my car. When I asked she claimed she hadn’t seen me. I thought a yellow Jeep was sort of hard to miss, but I didn’t think it was worth arguing. The lady in question was actually really nice. If it hadn’t been for the circumstances, I was pretty sure we’d be friends.

The short and long of it is that instead of getting home at a decent hour yesterday, I got home really, really late. And my poor Jeep is at the body shop. Oh, and I’m okay. I have a neck ache and headache and bruises but I’m fine.

A few minor points are worth mentioning.

1. The decor at the Police Station where I live leaves a lot to be desired. Those chairs are NOT comfortable and, I may not know much about decorating, but I can tell you they could use a couple of plants to liven up the space.

2. Tow-truck drivers know more about the city than any private investigator.

3. Murphy was right, if anything can go wrong, it will. During the accident, the cleaning product I had in my car broke spilling all over the inside. The many papers I carried and books fell into the mess and chemically bonded so that they’re now inseparable. And though the container said the cleaning product smelled like spring, it’s certainly not recommended as perfume. Everyone kept sniffing in my direction all night with a look of disbelief.

4. Shock is a funny thing. When the woman who hit me explained the reasons against making a claim, I thought it sounded perfectly reasonable and even tried to comfort her.

5. Finally, hubbies are soooo nice when you tell them someone hit your car and it wasn’t your fault. He took one look at me and ran to plug the kettle. Ahhh…British self-care.

(credit:pinterest.com)

(credit:pinterest.com)

25 thoughts on “We interrupt regular programming…

  1. Glad that you’re okay! Getting checked up even if you feel alright would indeed be good. I was in 2 car accidents (as passenger) over the last months, and I had some of the injuries show up not right away. I hope that you don’t have any though!

  2. Ouch, sorry – that could wreck your ENTIRE DAY – and more. Happy you weren’t seriously hurt but Trent’s advice is sound. And I’ll imagine your insurer will decide who pays…and it was clearly not your fault. Did the police file a report? I think you have every excuse to totally baby yourself and hubby to do likewise for as long as it takes, lol.

    • Babying was the theme of the day yesterday. I did nothing but that. And you’re right, I was so lucky one because I wasn’t hurt and two because the snow storm we had Friday held out until after my accident! 😀 Thanks so much for the wonderful, caring comment!

  3. I’m so glad you’re okay, that must have been a traumatic experience. I love it that, in your usual way, you found the humour in a bad situation (I laughed out loud at some of your comments). But it’s easy to laugh afterwards and, like I said, I’m relieved you’re well (though sore I imagine). There’s nothing quite like a British cup of tea, to calm a fraught situation 🙂

What do you think?

