Review: Darkness Concealed

Darkness Concealed is a dark fantasy. It’s a story set in a world where terrible things happen in a cyclic pattern. It’s also the story of four reluctant heroes who set off to try and beat incredible odds.

I particularly loved the characters. I loved Caleb in particular because he came from a small town, he was different and such a sensitive person. I loved his gift or curse and the changes it brought in his personality as a result.

I loved Alexandra, the fighter and warrior. I loved that she was a woman and also the defender of the group. She made so much sense to me and had so little patience for beating around the bush that I liked her instantly.

Liz was hilarious. Her inner battles were a hoot and she made me laugh. I loved her realistic nature and how clearly she thought.

Ivan, who loved books so much, was one of my favourites. A thinker, analytical and reasonable, I could so relate to everything he said. I felt better knowing he was part of the group and was hoping he’d be along for the ride from the very beginning.

Darkness Concealed doesn’t reveal its secrets at once. I loved that there were pieces and bits of the puzzle that come along the way. There are no useless facts. Things come together and become meaningful as we go along and discover more of the truth behind what’s happening. As a reader, I had to learn to be patient and wait for that insight. And not everything is revealed in this book. This is a trilogy after all.

I particularly loved the places where the four heroes go. I won’t go into details and reveal too much, but I loved those locations. They’re fantastic, amazing places and I was thrilled to be able to go along for the ride with the four main characters.

There are terrible things described in Darkness Concealed but there’s also humour and magic and hope. If you’re a fantasy reader or someone who’d like to try this genre, this one is for you.

(credit: goodreads)

(credit: goodreads)

5 thoughts on “Review: Darkness Concealed

  1. Pingback: Pay It Forward Friday: D. Emery Bunn | Taylor Grace

What do you think?

