Tag, you’re it! A Reading Habits Tag

I read this tag in Winter Bayne, which referred me to Melissa Barker-Simpson’s and Callum Mc Laughlin’s. They were all great posts with fun answers and I decided to join in.

Question #1: Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

Nope. I read anywhere and everywhere. Though there’s a particularly comfy couch that lays back where I love to read. But I have been found standing in the kitchen reading when I was supposed to be keeping an eye on pasta that was cooking.

Question #2: Bookmark or a random piece of paper?

I always forget my bookmarks. I get so excited with the book, I start and not even think. Then, when the phone rings or something stops me, I look around for anything to keep my place. So anything goes, from paper clips, to earrings, to a stir stick (clean)…anything.

Question #3: Can you stop reading anytime you want or do you have to stop at a certain page, chapter, part, etc.?

I hate stoping. I particularly hate stopping when things are intense or when there’s something good going on or when the characters are happy or when the villain is about to be revealed…but I am able to stop. I just don’t like it.

Question #4: Do you eat or drink while reading?

Not really. I’ve tried to bring a cup of coffee or tea but I get into the book and forget about them.

Question #5: Can you read while listening to music/watching TV?

I can but I prefer not to. I have read with music or with my very loud family around and I can tune them all out–they even call my name and I don’t hear them. But I prefer quiet.

Question #6: One book at a time, or several at once?

Oh. Several at once. I read for pleasure, then I re-read old favourites, then I have new ones that I’m trying, then there are those that are for research…I have little stacks of books on the go here and there.

Question #7: Reading at home or everywhere?

Everywhere except the car. I get sick.

Question #8: Reading out loud or silently in your head?

Silently. I don’t actually like reading out loud. It’s too slow.

Question #9: Do you read ahead or skip pages?

I have to admit it, I skip sometimes. When I get scared, I need to know that things are going to turn out okay.

Question #10: Breaking the spine or keeping it new?

Oh. I never, EVER hurt a book. And if I see someone doing so, I can’t help it, I flinch. It’s a thing.

Question #11: Do you write in books?

Nope. Not even in my university textbooks.

(credit: notsogentlereader.blogspot.com)

(credit: notsogentlereader.blogspot.com)

15 thoughts on “Tag, you’re it! A Reading Habits Tag

  1. Your humour shines through in the responses, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading your answers. I’m glad you took part 🙂 We have quite a lot in common (I’m thinking of the pasta, zoning out and travel sickness – interesting combination). And I can appreciate your ‘thing’ – though for me it’s when someone folds the pages. Stop…I can’t even think about it!

  2. Pingback: Top 10 September Posts | Taylor Grace

  3. If anything catches my interest, its others who love to read. I’m an avid reader! I don’t use bookmarks because I no longer buy ‘physical’ books. I made the switch to the Kindle when it came out and never looked back. If anything, it’s made it even easier for me to indulge my love of reading. Nothing beats that sense of well-being of knowing I have a huge library of books at my fingertips no matter where I am. 😀 In spite of working a 40 plus hour week, trying to write, trying to blog, I always make time for my reading. I can’t ‘not’ read, you know?

    Great post; I enjoyed learning more about you.

What do you think?

