Review: Sins of the Father

I had read another of Ms. Barker-Simpson’s books and hoped I was going to like this one. I wasn’t disappointed.

One of the things I like the most about Sins of the Father is its clear sense of direction. There is a reason for every scene and conversation. The tension doesn’t grow haphazardly or uncontrollably. It doesn’t ebb for no reason. It rises clearly and unerringly to the climax and delivers a beautiful resolution.

I particularly loved the dialogue. Fresh, light and so real I could hear voices and intonation, it kept me turning pages. Nothing is over-stated or repeated, instead quirky humour kept me smiling and drew me into the story.

In a few paragraphs, I both knew and liked Alicia. She was determined without being pushy, courageous in the face of overwhelming odds and passionate about her friends and family.

Brad is the bodyguard I’d like to have if I had a choice. Tall, handsome, confident, competent and just a little bit dangerous. Their meeting is one of my favourite parts of the book.

The characters are deeply layered and I’m not just talking about the hero and heroine. Even minor characters have histories, stories and quirky comments that make them stand out and take them from ordinary to fascinating. And that awful villain…I have to admit, I really loathed this villain. He scared the socks off of me.

I was more than a little terrified for Alicia. She, on the other hand, faced problems with a determination and clear mind that left me awed. Unlike other books, where the heroine’s job magically disappears, Alicia keeps working and facing danger every day. To say that I admired her is an understatement, by the end of the book, I was cheering for her happy ending with Brad.

Fast paced, with delightful characters, lively dialogue and a touch of humour, this is a great read for anyone who likes mystery or romance. The writing is superb and the story really well put together. I would highly recommend it.

 

sins-of-the-father

 

Note: click on cover to go to site.

3 thoughts on “Review: Sins of the Father

  1. Thanks, Taylor. I know I’ve told you before, but I love your reviews. I always enjoy reading them (it’s not all about me!) – you have a unique voice, which gives the reader a clear picture of what they can expect. I’m honoured you posted another review of my work here and I can’t tell you how much I appreciate the support 🙂

  2. Pingback: Pay-It-Forward-Friday: Melissa Barker-Simpson | Taylor Grace

What do you think?

