My first look at Outlander

The book Outlander might be thick but it’s a legend. First, you have a top-rate love story. Then you have completely accurate historical facts and finally, it takes place in Scotland. It’s an incredible book.

A lot of folks were worried that the series wouldn’t do the books justice. I was just hoping we’d get to see it in Canada (we don’t always). When I found out we did, I screamed a little.

I loved the costumes. They were just the way I saw them in my head and added pieces that I couldn’t figure out. Their hats, the way the full kilts looked, the way they rode on horses with them, the scenery without lights or roads. It looked absolutely realistic. I could feel the midst and humidity.

I loved the dialogue. I knew they’d have to cut some stuff out, but I was ecstatic that they kept the best parts. And I particularly loved the accents and the music was awesome. Just right.

I thought the acting was really good. I liked Caitriona Balfe as Claire and Sam Heughan as Jamie. I thought they were just like the book characters, except alive.

What I didn’t like was how short the first episode was. I couldn’t believe it when the credits rolled by. I honestly wished it would have gone on longer.

Everything else I absolutely loved. Have you seen it? What did you think?

 

1526635_10151968619307108_1161877111_n_zps8bd3d532Still hungry for more? Check out these other reviews of the Outlander series.

http://romanceuniversity.org/2014/08/25/outlander-hits-the-small-screen-with-elizabeth-eckhart/

All About Romance’s Review.

 

7 thoughts on “My first look at Outlander

  1. I never read the book but am planning to check the TV show, though it might not be before a few weeks as I have other things on my to watch list. Thank you for your comments and observations!

  2. Pingback: Top 10 posts for August | Taylor Grace

What do you think?

