If we were having coffee…

A_time_for_a_cup_of_coffee-2

 

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that my work load is about to go through the roof and I’m worried about it and I’d tell you our house hasn’t sold and that worries me more than I’d like to admit.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that I’m actually enjoying editing Amy’s Courage because I’ve added a new character–an adopted dog–that I simply love. My sister was teaching in Mongolia and sent me this picture of a homeless dog she was feeding. 5_Lucie the Mum

Her name is Lucy and she’s a stray dog trying to feed her puppies. I couldn’t get her out of my mind. So, I’ve put her in my book where I get to spoil her to my heart’s content.

I’d tell you I’m looking forward to fall. After the winter we just had, it’s insane that I can’t wait for the cold weather again. I probably have penguin DNA or something.

I’d ask you how you’re doing and what you’re reading…

* * *

If we were having coffee is a blog post feature from Just Gene’O. He’s having a linkup today here.

My usual Saturday Post: Posts I loved this Week will be here tomorrow…with a teeny, tiny surprise.

30 thoughts on “If we were having coffee…

  1. having a mug of coffee right now 🙂 with milk and sugar ,
    i would be telling you too give that dog a lots of T.L.C 🙂
    your work load needs some categorisation and prioritisation ,
    maybe you can look around your neighborhood and see if there are other houses for sale , look at the prizes and what your house makes the difference ,
    good luck …..
    coffee ???

  2. What a lovely thought, to add Lucy into your story. I’m looking forward to reading all about her 🙂 I’ll not bore you with how I am because I’m having one of my ‘dark’ days. But if we were having coffee and you asked, I’d say I was hanging in there 🙂 Oh, and I have my beta-reading hat on, so I’m reading Power Words. It’s highly entertaining.

  3. Hi there – just enjoyed a jasmine tea because I don’t drink coffee 🙂
    I know how frustrating it is trying to sell a house – it took us nearly a year once to sell one of ours, so good luck! Someone will want it, it just takes the right person to come along.
    I’ve got one of these “coffee” posts waiting to go, but I’m a bit confused. I thought Gene’O was going to post one today and we were supposed to put a link to our posts on his Saturday post? I know, I’m in the UK and therefore hours ahead of you guys, but I’m a bit puzzled, that’s all.
    Since you asked what I’m reading at the moment, I’m reading The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver and really loving it.
    Enjoy the rest of your day!

    • Oh, I LOVED the Poisonwood Bible. So good! You’ve got to tell me how you like it. Isn’t it fantastic how the narrator changes? I really loved that book.
      I confused too! Should we link up to his previous post?

      • Yes, I’m enjoying all the different voices in The Poisonwood Bible. I’m only about 33% through it at the moment, but the tension is really starting to mount.
        No one has yet put a link to their coffee posts on his post from yesterday, but I don’t suppose it would hurt, would it? If he puts out his own coffee post we could always put a link there too. I think I’ll get my post out, because I need to go out shortly.

  4. I love the If We’re Having Coffee series that Gene’O and Diana have been doing! And selling a house is just so stressful, I know it’s not easy just waiting. But how exciting to find something new to add to your book at this late stage, what a nice unexpected little bonus!

  5. I sympathize with the work load. Mine’s through the roof, as well. The linkup at the last blog is sort of a final fling to bookend this wild & crazy summer of blogging. I’m 3/4 of the way through that two-volume History of the Medici I told you about right after I started it back in June. I’ve been reading 5-20 pages per day all summer. That’s actually a good way to read, I’ve found.

  6. Yay! I’m glad you’re enjoying editing… that can be such a hit and miss thing!
    Hopefully your work-load increase is of the good sort… I know that it can be challenging to juggle things sometimes, hopefully it doesn’t get too crazy!

  7. Life sure gets busy. Sometimes I think we all need to slow down. Could we go on strike against hurrying and worrying? The sweet dog picture touched my heart. Tell your sister thankyou for helping such a gentle creature:)

      • In Singapore. It’s really beautiful here but you always have to find something to complain about, right? And I’ve always been a winter person (grew up in Canada!). They told me my body would adapt. I’m still waiting.

      • Yeah. I’ll never forget the day I left the house at 5am to get to the hospital and have my baby. You’d expect it to be somewhat chilly at 5 in the morning right? I put a light sweater on only to take it off as soon as I opened the front door and discovered that it was, in fact, 32 degrees.

      • You’re from here, so you know what its like. When we say cold, we mean if you breathe in too quickly, your nose hairs will stick together (frozen) and the car might not start and you better not touch anything metal without a glove or your hand will be there awhile. The nights here can get ridiculous. Last winter alone we had two blizzards…that’s cold. I had a friend visit from Spain and she was frozen in September! I told her to come back in January! 🙂 Ha! I can’t believe it…32 overnight. I hope you have a/c.

      • This made me laugh out loud!! Yeah! That’s cold! Seriously I remember being out in a blizzard once and feeling certain my eyes would just freeze! And when I decided to make a point and prove to the boys in my ski class that could stay outside and ski in -60 degree weather!! (Wind factor and all that’s stuff… It was ice hell!)

  8. Gosh, do I know what you mean about work load. I’ve got so much to do that I keep just shutting down in an effort to forget it, but that’s not doing me any good. lol

  9. Pingback: Top 10 posts for August | Taylor Grace

What do you think?

