Review: unBlessed

UnBlessed is the story of a teen trying to find out where she belongs. It’s a fantasy story in a different world but, for all its differences, it was familiar. The Melior city is familiar, the people react the way we do and the theme of belonging is one of my favourites. I had only read a couple of paragraphs and I had to find out what was going to happen.

Kisara is a Melior and their entire youth is focused on one event, the Blessing Ceremony. Like her peers, she’s been looking forward to it for years. She has her special dress ready, her friends at her side and her mother to support her. Things work out well for her friend, Lucien but they go very differently for Kisara. I won’t divulge what happens but I will say it’s unexpected and very important.

I loved the speed of the book. I honestly picked it up and didn’t put it down until I read the entire thing. It’s fast, unpolluted with long-winded speeches or stories, and it caught my attention from the start.

I loved Kisara. She was gutsy, likeable and kept her chin up in spite of being in some very difficult situations. I liked Lucien as well. His heart is always in the right place and it’s actually painful to see him try to do what’s right but end up messing up.

Sebastian and the Transeaturs had me at the start. They’re some of my favourite parts of the book. They’re mysterious, powerful, thrilling and kind all in one race. Amazing. Loved them.

Kisara’s journey makes a wonderful story, fun, light and with fantastic ideas. It’s an easy world to get into and one I would highly recommend.

51HhgrPhU0L

 

Note: click on cover to go to site.

7 thoughts on “Review: unBlessed

  1. I’m so incredibly sorry it took me so long to say this, but thank you for reading and reviewing my book! Hearing that another author enjoyed my world makes me so happy! *impulsive e-hug*

  2. Pingback: Monday Briefing – 7/7/14 | Crystin Goodwin

  3. Pingback: And we’re off! | Crystin Goodwin

  4. Pingback: Pay It Forward Friday: Crystal Goodwin | Taylor Grace

What do you think?

