The Beautiful Game…

It’s the World Cup. Soccer is just about everywhere now. Cars have flags waving proudly in the air cheering for their country of choice, people wear jerseys and, more often than not, someone is talking about this goal or that penalty. Soccer is in everyone’s mind.

I may live in the land of Hockey but there’s a magic, a beauty to Soccer that captures a lot of Canadians–even if its not done on ice. It’s such a simple game. Get the ball, put it in the net and don’t use your hands. Simple. And yet, so elegant.

It may be because I was born in Europe where futbol is more than a passion, it’s a religion, a culture and a way of life all at once. It may be because it’s so simple to understand yet mesmerizing to watch. It may be something completely different. Whatever the reason, I love it.

I was actually in Spain for the last World Cup. Wow. Those Spaniards know a thing or two about celebrating. That was one wild night.

I can’t wait to go out with some friends and cheer on a game.

119433-african-penguins-play-with-a-small-soccer-ball-during-an-event-at-hakk

baby_elephant_playing_soccer

Okay, I know. Those pictures are ridiculous self-indulgence. But they’re so cute!!

Here’s a real soccer picture.

 

It truly is such a beautiful game.

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Beautiful Game…

  1. Over here, you can currently tell who watched the latest games by the rings under their eyes. They’re usually on at midnight, 3 am, and 6 am Perth time. Who’d be silly enough to stay up and watch a game at those ridiculous hours? Who knows… *yawn*. zzzZZZ

  2. Eh yeah, most amurricans don’t get it. Yet they go nuts during football season. I work with someone who lives ad breathes football all year long. Use to hear about it every night at work. I learned more about it than I care too…but I helped me make conversation with the “guys.” I could totally pretend I knew what I was saying.

What do you think?

