Review: The Benevolence Archives Vol.1

I chose to read something out of my genre with this book. I had no idea what to expect for The Benevolence Archives. I was fairly certain it wasn’t going to be romance and I knew it was in English. Everything else was a surprise. And it was a very pleasant surprise.

I loved the intro for this book. I loved it because it was written with humour and in such a kind way–almost humble–that I felt as though the author was a friend, talking to me directly. It also helped me because it set up the setting for the book. Suddenly, I knew where I was and what was going to happen. That introduction eliminated the effort it takes to get into some science-fiction books. I was most definitely in.

One of the things I enjoyed most about this book was the humour. From subtle to quirky, it’s everywhere and I loved it. Everyone has personality and I liked them all. From Nameless, the ship who talks back with some cheek to its owners, to the droids who edge away from those they think are dangerous, the smaller characters kept me smiling or right out laughing.

I can’t talk about characters without talking about Brazel and Grond. Hilarious, outspoken, cheeky and right out delightful, they tease each other, laugh at danger but still pull at your heart strings. I loved them. I particularly loved their dialogue and how they almost carelessly went ahead with crazy plans thought up in the spur of the moment.

The book is fast paced without leaving the reader in the dark. Things happen quickly and I had to keep turning the pages to see how on earth they were going to get out of this or that fix. It takes place in space but it wasn’t a weird, strange alien world where the oddities made me want to get back to earth, this space was familiar and fun. It had your slimy and scary characters but it also had touching moments and homey feelings.

Because the stories are short, the book is an easy, quick read that is simply fun, light and enjoyable. Reading it felt like a movie. I could see the ships, the planets and the characters in my mind. Best of all, I can go back and see them all over again.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a great read.

mblile-72dpi-1500x2000

 

Buy link: Amazon. Site link.

12 thoughts on “Review: The Benevolence Archives Vol.1

  1. Pingback: Reviewing fears | Taylor Grace

  2. Pingback: Top posts for May | Taylor Grace

What do you think?

