A to Z Day 18: Revision

Another amazing post by Gene’O. I particularly loved how he broke down the editing process. I’m in the middle of it right now and this was so helpful. A big thanks to Gene’O for the great post!

My Former Blog

I think the three most important parts of the writing process are:

Click for A to Z blog list. Click for A to Z blog list.

1. Actually finishing a draft.

2. Revising the draft (which is different than editing).

3. Finding someone else to read it and give you feedback.

I talked about the importance of finishing drafts on Saturday. Today’s post is all about revision. Understanding the writing process in a general way is important, but understanding what works for you is even more important. Once we get down to details, every writer’s process is unique. I suggest finding a writing process that allows you to play to your strengths and overcome your weaknesses.

I outlined my own writing process in detail not long after I started this blog (apologies for the awfulness of the graphic). The first thing I do to a draft before I even think about real revision is cut words…

View original post 267 more words

What do you think?

