A good villain

I’ve rambled on about flat characters before. Then I discovered this post by Lisa Alber. She writes on how to make a fantastic villain. And you need a good villain, you need a great villain to take your story from good to great.

A great villain is someone that we love to hate. It’s someone we like just a little bit; they are redeemable enough that we want to hear about them yet they’re terrible enough that we hate them anyway. You know they’re good when they keep us turning the pages. More than anything else, we want that evil person to face the music and pay for what they’ve done. They can’t stupid or illogical, they have to be smart, even a little brilliant and nasty to the bone. They can easily carry that story to the end.

But how do you get one? Hm. I’m thinking of my book, Amy’s Courage and the villains in it (yes, more than one). I think I need to revisit them. Because Lisa Alber has some very, very good suggestions on how to make these characters rich and juicy and simply delicious. Characters you love to hate. And the chance to make my book better is too good to pass up.

Want to know more? Here’s the link to her post.

Want to know less? Here’s what I took from it: enrich my villain with layers, personality and background. Give them faults but also give them gifts–after all, they too were someone’s baby once.

A big thank you to Lisa Alber for the awesome post!

images-4

5 thoughts on “A good villain

  1. Morning Taylor! I love a great bad boy/ bad girl. I want to like the antagonist just as much if not more than the protags. Unfortunately, my writing isn’t there yet 😉

What do you think?

