Adding humour–a serious job

I add humour to my novels…but how? Well, I asked myself that question and found out that explaining how or why something is funny is actually really, really hard. I wracked my brain trying to figure out how on this green earth I write humour into my tales and all I came up with was this little example.

It’s something I wrote for Olivia’s Choice:

“She had not gone more than a handful of steps when the wind picked up and the rain started. It seemed Mother Nature had a sense of humour. A macabre one.”

That last part was the funny bit. That last part. The…No? Not even a hint of a smile? Rats.

Time to bring out the professionals.

Annie Binns wrote a great post on the blog Write to Done with great examples and much greater in-depth analysis on how to write something funny. She’s got it down to a science and did a much better job than my teenie-tiny example. Check it out. I was in awe.

5 thoughts on “Adding humour–a serious job

What do you think?

