Book review (NOT Romance!)

Okay, this is completely new for me….but I read a book that was not romance. I read Crow Lake by Mary Lawson and, wow, was it ever amazing. I loved it.

Crow Lake is the story of a family, well the story of the children of that family and how they cope with tragedy. While it’s not a tear jerker, it’s both gripping and interesting. It certainly caught my attention from the start. It’s not romance, it’s the story of a real-to-life family. Their personalities are honest and complete with everything from quirks to flaws. I felt like I’d known them for years.

I don’t usually do non-romance. But this one was wonderful. Well-written without dragging or using symbolism that I didn’t get, interesting without bordering on the ridiculous and filled with excellent dialogue. It was most definitely a page-turner because I really, really wanted to know what was going to happen…and that kept me, well, turning the pages.

I highly recommend it.

 

P.S. I also read Lover Unbound by J.R.Ward and that was simply delicious and also romance. 🙂

What do you think?

