What I’m doing now…

I’m almost done Amy’s Courage. I have the epilogue to write and I’m done. I’m excited and thrilled…and terrified of the editing that I know will come next.

Editing doesn’t come easy to me. I don’t have tons of money for someone else to do it so it’s up to me…and my trusty computer. The very first thing I have to do is look over the plot and make sure that it runs smoothly and that any superfluous scenes find their way to the trash. Then it’s going over the writing until it shines brighter than the stars in the sky.

My biggest editing nightmares are: knowing how to edit and when to stop and the dreaded passive voice.

So, I promise a post with links on how to edit very soon. I’ll add the links to my growing Resources page for easy access. I also promise a post on that nasty ‘passive voice’ and how to avoid it–also with links.

One final idea that you might be able to try: the new version of MacBook Pro has a feature that reads out loud anything you highlight. Hearing any written text out loud immediately highlights all and any typos, misplaced commas, and issues. It’s a very powerful tool…but you need patience because it will read the entire story in one slow voice. Also, you might want to use headphones (or not do it while in a public coffee shop–yeah, I tried it there. Enough said).

What do you think?

