Do not write here

I know there are authors who have their ideal places to write. I do as well. But, I thought it might be more interesting to talk about places where I’ve tried to write…and, well, let’s just say conditions weren’t ideal.

1. Holiday in Mexico. There was no air conditioning in the resort lobby and it was July. I can honestly say I’ve never, ever been that hot. I thought, with a cool glass of water, I could handle it. Nope. Add the heat from the laptop and that might explain the dehydration that followed. Ew.

2. At home while my hubby and his buddy were shovelling our roof. Canadians have to shovel more than their driveways. If you don’t shovel your roof and there’s enough of it, the weight of the snow will break it and literally destroy your house. Trying to write while someone is stomping and shovelling over your head is not ideal.

3. At work. I got some interesting questions about the ‘project’ I was working on. Snoops!

4. At the Doctors, or the dentists or… Turns out, while they don’t mind you waiting, they’re really picky about having to wait. And I’m not really nice when I’m in the ‘zone’ and someone interrupts me.

5. A zoo. Okay, okay. I know. That was silly of me to even try. But I thought that with the animals there’d be inspiration and the day was so beautiful…It was a disaster. They might be beautiful but they’re also very loud. And they don’t really keep up with the hygiene! Phew!

I hear authors often go to coffee shops and I would agree. I have one of my own. There’s something about caffeine, the soft murmur of voices and music and a lazy afternoon that immediately makes me want to write. It’s one of my favourite places for productivity.

How about you?

9 thoughts on “Do not write here

  1. I can’t write – really creatively write – in front of the computer. IThat’s for researching and revising. ‘m an old fashioned girl and I need paper and several different inks and to be away from the endless distractions my computer can offer (and my phone, and my e-reader). I find that my bedroom floor is a great place for me to be creative – after all, I dream up a lot of my ideas while drifting off to sleep at night. Clearly, there’s something about that room. Other days, I just need to get out of my house and the lurking responsibilities that seems to whisper all around it: clutter on the table, laundry in the basket, school forms to be filled out. Then I love the quiet, local coffe eshop with table service.

    • I love the multiple colours and no distractions! That sounds heavenly! And I can completely relate to leaving the house behind and heading out away from the responsibilities. Thanks for the comment!

  2. I totally relate to this. As someone with a literary blog, I’m always looking for new places to strike up great writing inspiration. The zoo is a fun one to try, but my favorite place is outside under a tree. Great post!

  3. Inside my house! It’s too noisy with my three boys, they squabble, they play their TV shows on LOUD, they want to chat to me especially when I’m ‘In the zone’. Sitting outside at my glass table with my coffee to blog is ideal while at home!

  4. I tried writing here (hope the picture works better than the writing did!) Turns out that whilst the beach is beautiful and relaxing, sand everywhere and children playing aren’t great writing companions. My favourite place to write is a coffee shop in the Shambles in York. Lovely place, excellent cake and tea.

What do you think?

