Cabin fever

After two days trapped inside the house by wind chills of minus 40 and below, I think I’m starting to get cabin fever.

Cabin fever is an idiomatic term that describes what happens to those who are isolated or shut in a small space for an extended period of time. Symptoms include lack of sleep, irritability, cravings for sugar and the strong urge to go outdoors. If you’re Canadian, you’ve probably experienced this at least once in your life. Spaniards, on the other hand, have no idea what I’m talking about.

(credit:montrealgazette.com)

(credit:montrealgazette.com)

We’ve been under a Blizzard warning for two days now. It’s so cold outside, you get ‘brain freeze’ (aka ice-cream headache) instantly. Last night I got about 2 maybe 3 hours of sleep. I’ve been eating sugar and carbs nonstop.

Plus, I’ve been exhibiting some behaviours that are…erratic: Singing for no apparent reason (I can NOT hold a tune to save my life). Obsessively staring at the report on the weather site for signs of early spring. Policing how many seeds each bird takes at the bird feeder (the woodpecker is a hog). Trying to dance a waltz with my pooch Ocean (note to self: next time, lead).

If this cold weather holds, I might start speaking in tongues or arguing with the furniture. Neither option is particularly appealing. Time to take some drastic action.

I’m going to paint my toenails red and dance to some really loud music.

Ah, without Ocean.

(credit:myconfinedspace.com)

(credit:myconfinedspace.com)

What do you think?

