A little blog big on humour

I have just visited this blog. Just. And I was so impressed, I had to blog about it.

Well, first I had to stop laughing, then I ran and told my husband (in great detail) and then I had to blog about it. Because I know people out there will love this blog. It’s just so good. https://www.facebook.com/OutmannedMommy

She’s a mom of two little boys and two doggies. This is how she describes herself: “My husband calls me honey, the three year old calls me mommy, the baby calls me milk, and the dogs call me their indentured servant.  It’s been a long time since I called myself anything else, but I’m working on that.  Now, YOU can call me Outmanned.”

That was it for me. Hooked.

She travelled with her boys and the stories almost made me pee my pants. It’s not just that the writing is good (because she’s very, very good) but she’s hilarious. There’s a twist to every story and I just want to read more.

I don’t have kids. Kids just weren’t in the cards for my husband and I, so we settled for our super-excitable akita. As a doggie mom, my perception of kids is always that of someone watching. From the outside, parenting looks more than a little terrifying. How do parents ever manage? How do they not need medication? How are they able to shower or get dressed? I barely manage and I only have one dog…and I can kick her out!

I think the thing that impressed me the most about this blog (and this incredible mom) is that in those super-stressful moments she manages to smile and laugh. I know for a fact, I would have been in tears or had a meltdown. How does she do it? I’m in awe.

Plus, the writing is really good. Writing a funny story isn’t easy. Humour can’t be predictable or it’s ruined and, since it’s a blog post, the story needs to be short or a reader will skip the entire tale (blog writing is an art by itself). Finally, adding a twist at the end so that the reader is surprised needs both intelligence and a good dose of cunning. Outmanned qualifies on all those points and then some.

Ever read Marsha Boulton (she wrote Letters from the Country)? Or James Herriot (he wrote All Creatures Great and Small)? They’re both writers (one passed away) and both wrote semi-autobiographical, humorous stories. Her blog posts reminded me of them.

Have you read the one about boobies? Not to be missed.

4 thoughts on “A little blog big on humour

What do you think?

