Positive thinking: You’re an awesome writer!

That post by Jeff Moore is still with me. I was looking for reviewers yesterday and their warnings sent me to a sad place. I started to wonder what I was doing fooling myself writing. So, today, I went and found some sites that have positive messages for beginning writers. I certainly needed to hear what they said. Here’s hoping some of you will find these helpful.

Justine Musk wrote 11 things writers should know here. I really liked that post.

I needed to hear that the first draft will not be perfect and that I should give myself permission to write badly. I always try to get that scene right. Not just the dialogue but the ambiance, the foreshadowing, the goal of the scene and the character quirks…not to mention the editing. With all that critique in my head, I just feel a lot of pressure. I loved hearing that the first draft should be rough!

I also related to her first item. “If you have a calling to write, it won’t go away.” I believe that. I’ve lived in different countries, learning different languages and I managed to write and read. It was in me and it certainly didn’t go away.

And I loved when she said: “Reading is the inhale, writing is the exhale.” Isn’t that so very true?

But I’m not done! Kelly Leiter has this awesome blog where you can find all kinds of goodies for writers (see her side menu). Here’s the link:

http://www.thebeginningwriter.com/

In particular, here is a post on self-doubt. I particularly liked the article by Susan Mary Malone, “Writing’s Four-Letter Word: Fear”. And the one by Michael Wallace, “On the Importance of Persistence.” I really liked when he said he could ‘wallpaper a room with rejection letters’. If he’s so good and got that many rejections, maybe there’s hope.

Finally, Kelly Leiter has these helpful quotes to get you started wherever you are in the writing process.

http://www.thebeginningwriter.com/2012/03/helpful-quotes-to-inspire-and-guide-you.html

So, like Natalie Goldberg says: “Just write. Just write. Just write…”

One little image, just for a smile.

(credit:alanrinzler.com)

(credit:alanrinzler.com)

What do you think?

