I need to go for a run

Today was…well, special. In my day job, I work with the public and, while some people are wonderful, others are…interesting. My motto for dealing with people is to be nice and, if they’re horrible, to unleash my greatest weapon: ‘kill them with kindness’. When they insult me, praise them; when they’re irrational and demanding, support them; when they’re angry, be kind. I try to melt away their anger, to tell them how they make sense and to validate their process. It really works. Most times, that anger hides an incredible amount of pain. Give them a little support and the hardest, meanest people turn into sniffing, insecure teddy bears.

I just need to make sure I vent out my own feelings because there are times when I’d like to kick someone. Since I can’t, I go to my elliptical.

I love my machine. My hubby encouraged me to buy it and it’s one of those purchases I absolutely adore. It’s in a large room in our basement facing a big window and just waiting…for me. No one has used it, no one has sweated on it, I don’t have to wait for someone to finish working out, I don’t have to worry about what I’m wearing, I can work out whenever I want and it’s impact free, so I can go for as long as I want.

To say it’s awesome doesn’t even cover it.

On the elliptical, I run with our dogs (even those who’re now gone), and run marathons and shout at imaginary giants and unleash all the bottled issues I’ve carried all day. With my favourite music in my little iPod, I run and then I run some more. Afterwards, I feel like a million dollars, the issues of the day seem ridiculously simple and, at night, I’m guaranteed a great sleep.

Oh, and, as another bonus, I’m healthier and sport great muscles. Yeey!

What do you do to feel free and fit?

What do you think?

