Quotes about books

I was the only one in my family who read. When I was a teen, I was the only one of my friends who read. As a young adult, I remember getting odd looks from people when I pulled out a book from my pocket. “You brought a book?” they asked.

Today I know lots of people read but I still find it comforting to hear them speak about the connection they have with books. From funny to tear-jerkers, these quotes moved me. They’re all about books.

“Outside of a dog, a book is a man’s best friend. Inside of a dog, it’s too dark to read.” – Groucho Marx.

“The greatest gift is a passion for reading.”- Elizabeth Hardwick.

“When I get a little money, I buy books. If there’s any left over, I buy food.” – Desiderius Erasmus.

“Education is a vaccine for violence.” – Edward James Olmos.

“There are worse crimes than burning books. One of them is not reading them.” – Joseph Brodsky.

“A book is the most effective weapon against intolerance and ignorance.” – Lyndon Baines Johnson.

 

And, of course, the amazing poem, “The reading mother” by Strickland Gillilan.

I had a mother who read to me
Sagas of pirates who scoured the sea.
Cutlasses clenched in their yellow teeth;
“Blackbirds” stowed in the hold beneath.
I had a Mother who read me lays
Of ancient and gallant and golden days;
Stories of Marmion and Ivanhoe,
Which every boy has a right to know.
I had a Mother who read me tales
Of Gelert the hound of the hills of Wales,
True to his trust till his tragic death,
Faithfulness lent with his final breath.
I had a Mother who read me the things
That wholesome life to the boy heart brings-
Stories that stir with an upward touch.
Oh, that each mother of boys were such!
You may have tangible wealth untold;
Caskets of jewels and coffers of gold.
Richer than I you can never be —
I had a Mother who read to me.

What do you think?

