Books worth waiting for

When I first buy my yearly agenda, fresh and crisp and clean, I look up my favourite authors and their upcoming release dates and write their coming books into the pages. It’s the first thing I do with the agenda and one that gives me so much joy. I also use my agenda to remember dates like the dentist and meetings for work, like most people, but those don’t make me smile.

I’ve found I need to be organized. When you can read a book in a day, the problem is feeding the habit…and I won’t just read anything. I’m picky. (Insert eye-roll right here). So, I check to see what new books are coming out and plan my reading accordingly. I end up having to re-read some of my old favourites but the new ones keep me going.

So, who am I waiting for?

Ooooh, there are a couple of yummy books coming that make me want to count down the days (Don’t. I’ve found out, counting down days actually makes the wait feel longer…like waiting for a kettle to boil).

J. R. Ward has the next in the BDB series coming and it’s titled The King. Oh. Sweet. Goodness. I’m all in a tizzy about this one. It looks soooo good. Soooo good. (Yeap, worth all those extra o’s).

Madeline Hunter has The Accidental Duchess coming in May. Can’t wait. Can’t wait.

Mary Balogh has The Escape coming. I’m so excited about this one. She’s just superb…but the date is still in the air. I’m hoping early because…well, yum!

There are a few more really good ones coming who I’ll have to wait until January to put into the agenda. Nalini Singh, for example has a new Guild Hunter book due and I’m so excited about that one. I know I said the same thing a bit ago about another book but I just read Archangel’s Legion and it was so good, all it did was get me hungrier for the next book!

Nora Roberts, Julie James, Kelley Armstrong, Jill Shalvis, Lisa Kleypas…they’re all coming. I can’t wait.

Now, here’s what I must not do. I must not go and read the tempting first chapter of those books coming out next year. Even though I want to. Really. Badly. I shouldn’t because, after I read that one tiny chapter, I need to have the rest of the book and, if it’s months away, the wait can be torture. Literally, torture. It’s better to write down the title under the right date and wait. Watching the agenda. Humming with anticipation.

(credit: 360solutions.com)

(credit: 360solutions.com)

What do you think?

