A book worth its weight in gold

Laura Kinsale is amazing, incredibly talented and sheer genius. Of her books, the one that touched my heart the most was undoubtedly Flowers from the storm. It was absolutely gripping, poignant and unforgettable. I also cried. A lot.

I don’t usually like books that make me cry. I figure life can do that enough on its own (I’ve been known to cry at commercials) so I don’t need that in my books, thank you very much. And I’m not like Oprah who doesn’t need a happy ending. I need a happy ending. Thankfully, Laura Kinsale delivers the happy ending. And the book is so good, I’m willing to put aside my dislike of tears.

This is not your average romance book and, in my humble opinion, Laura Kinsale is not your average romance writer. She’s different because she’s literary genius. Like the Shakespeare of romance, I bet someone could teach a course with the curriculum based exclusively on her book. There are layers and multiple aspects to her writing that raise it above the ordinary. Way above.

Flowers from the storm has won awards. The Romance Writers of America have given it Finalist, Best romance novel in 1992. The Romance Reviewers from http://www.likesbooks.com run a poll and this book was rated number 6 out of the top 100 romance novels. Having read it, I’m not surprised by these awards, I’m surprised it hasn’t won more.

It’s definitely on my keeper shelf and I have read it and re-read it numerous times. It consoles me when I lose faith in books, and it inspires me to reach for greatness in my own writing. Nope. I can’t ever hope to reach her level of greatness. I’m intelligent enough to realize my limitations but I can aspire to be the best I can be. And her book helps me. Plus, it’s soo good. Oh, my goodness. It’s just such a great love story.

(credit: goodreads.com)

(credit: goodreads.com)

It’s been around for a bit, so anyone could pick it up at a used book store. It doesn’t have to mean a great financial investment. Still, I would recommend it blindly to anyone. Personally, I believe this is a book worth its weight in gold.

What do you think?

