Plot wars

I’m in the middle of a plot issue.

It’s the second book in a series. I have a hero I love and a heroine that deserves and challenges him. I have an idea of what I want the story to do. I know what their wounds and strengths are…but I’m fighting with the events that actually happen in said story.

I wrote the book last year. I really did. I wrote the entire thing from beginning to end. Let me tell you, it was not smooth sailing. I fought with the plot from the very beginning and only got through it by sticking to it and sheer will. I finally finished the book this summer…only to discover I didn’t like it. Worse, I couldn’t let it go that way. I thought it didn’t focus on the hero and heroine. It was simply blah.

So, I sat down and wrote another plot. I think this one focuses more on the two main characters and gives them more time to interact with each other. I hope it shows them in their best possible light. I hope it also challenges them into becoming better people and makes them face their wounds.

But, of course the only way to find out if it will do all that is to write it out. And there are no guarantees.

It was pretty gutting to realize I had done all that writing for nothing. Until I thought: wait a minute. I write for me. I write because I love to do it and not to get published or to be famous or to make money…well, maybe a little. Hee hee! No. Really, the point (I do have one, I promise) is that I love to write and this is another opportunity to do just that.

Even if the plot and I go to war again.

(credit: 123rf.com)

(credit: 123rf.com)

 

What do you think?

