A muse of a problem

Confession: There are days when I haven’t actually written a single word.

(credit: kaleidoscopecardigans.wordpress.com)

(credit: kaleidoscopecardigans.wordpress.com)

Not a single one! I may have written a post on my blog or I’ve commented on Facebook but I’ve done no actual writing on my book.

I have a day job, a husband I can’t ignore and little minions who need my care (aka doggies). But those are excuses. The real reason I didn’t write is that I couldn’t get my writing mojo going. I couldn’t find my inspiration, or, if you like, my muse.

Usually, to find that elusive muse, I go somewhere with minimal distractions. A nice coffee shop, a quiet corner of the library, some place where the interruptions are few, there is no phone, no dogs and nothing else to do but to write. There, I find a spot, sit and write. In that quiet vacuum, my inner muse wakes up and things flow. I have found that having a good cup of coffee doesn’t hurt things either.

But there are times when writing is difficult even in the most encouraging places.

I seem to have no problem with my blogging-muse. Without fail, I find the time to write posts for my little blog–I do love my little blog and my few but lovely followers. But I should be writing my book.

When I do get bitten by the inspiration muse, the inspiration is so strong, I grab whatever paper is around and start writing. Unfortunately, those instances are few and they seem to occur at 1am. My muse doesn’t follow my schedule and she’s also not very concerned about sleep deprivation.

What do you do? How do you find inspiration? Or do you just write?

What do you think?

